summer

2003-06-23 - 11:31 a.m.

Oh, god, it's summer!

I'm hughly disgruntled that I have to do anything, and on top of that, I have to do all sorts of things involving thought.

Summer is not for that -- summer is for doing things, yes, but a different sort of thing than the things currently plaguing me.

For instance, this weekend I finished painting Nora's room. That's a summer, thing, and a thing I don't mind at all, although it was tiring. It looks good, though, and when it stops smelling like paint, she can move in. Of course, we still have to drag her bed up from the basement and stain and varnish it, but those are the good kinds of things, too.

And last night, Kevin and Nora built the ikea dresser that's been languishing in a box for 9 months (meaning I can now walk through my bedroom again!) and Nora and I built the drawers, and it is finished! So now, I just have to empty out my old dresser and clean it up a bit, and then carry it to Nora's room, and she can have it! Then we need to get curtains for her, and a cushion for the window seat, and a desk, and fix the shelves, and she's set.

That's the kind of stuff you're supposed to do in summer -- not write annual reports.

I also managed to plant the stuff that needed to go in the garden (which included some rough decision making) AND we've read a few hundred pages of the new Harry Potter.

Oh dear oh dear oh dear.

Ho hum.

I'll be back in a bit.

Oh -- Maddy has ceramics camp at the Y this week. Doesn't exactly look very good --a huge room filled with rowdy and raucus teenagers, her friend Samantha huddled in the corner. The promised trip to the museum of modern art changed to a trip to the winchester myster house. Hmmm. It will probably be better than it seemed -- half the kids in the classroom were for some other camp -- out and about, or basketball ot something. But the counsellor seemed sort of old and tired, and not exactly inspiring of much hope.

Well -- it's a week, and then it's back to the marina --

--Bye

out of print - new releases

find me! - 2008-02-12
where I've gone - 2008-02-07
Where I've gone - 2008-02-05
where I've gone - 2008-02-01
New - 2008-02-01

Diaryland

design by simplify.