And ...

2003-08-28 - 12:10 p.m.

Oh, I am sorry about the disappearance of yesterday's entry. I'm not sure I have the interest to repeat it.

But here are the highlights --

Girls had fun. Sailing class, although bitterly protested, was a good thing and they learned a lot. They had a great time with my mom and stepfather, and with by brothers and stepbrother and all their kids, ranging in age from 17 to 7 month. Very, very nice. My sisters-in-law were wonderful with them and took them all kinds of places. My mother's husband, who is 81, took them tubing. My sisters and their families came to visit, as did another brother, and my friend Lynn, who we usually go to visit in Rhode Island, came to visit us. Peter took her son, Lucas, tubing, which he liked. Kevin's brother Brian and his family, who live up near Boston, and who we usually go visit, came down to visit us, and that was very fun, too. I went biking and kayaking and sailing, and even got to crew in a sailboat race with my brother and stepbrother. We went to Providence to see the river fire or whatever it is, which is, frankly, a little silly. But not bad, and I can't believe how spiffy Providence is looking, although thank god the giant bug is still there on 195, and Brown looks exactly the same as it always has, at least the part of the green by the Van Wickle gates.

It was very nice and lazy, and maybe Lynn and I are going to ride the pan mass challenge next summer with my brother. Sailing with my other brother was great -- they race a J22. I don't know what that really means, but it's a lovely lovely boat. It feels a lot like a dinghy, only is has a keel, and it's bigger. But same kind of thing.

So there you have it. And now I'm back, and we have to worry about decluttering the house and getting ready for school and getting back to work and unpacking and laundering and getting kids to tutors and setting up new music lessons and ... that kind of stuff. It's already exhausting.

I have some new plans, though. I think we need a new fridge and a new washer and dryer, and I think we should get them. Also, I think we should think about redoing the kitchen. I am tired of a primitive kitchen. Also, I think I'm going to start riding a bike from Maddy's school to work at least twice a week. Hopefully more. So i'm going to get a bike. We just got Maddy a bike -- a specialized Sirrus -- which may be just the thing. I tried out a Bianchi Boardwalk yesterday, and I think I'm going to ride a Trek 7500 this afternoon --

So that's all very exciting. Maddy loves her bike, which is a miracle in and of itself.

Hmmmm.

Okay -- now I have to clear off my desk --

out of print - new releases

find me! - 2008-02-12
where I've gone - 2008-02-07
Where I've gone - 2008-02-05
where I've gone - 2008-02-01
New - 2008-02-01

Diaryland

design by simplify.