people with dogs

2003-10-01 - 11:02 a.m.

The theme for today is people walking dogs -- I saw about 40 people walking dogs on my way in to work this morning. Odd.

For some reason, Kevin woke me up at 4:30 this morning to tell me we can't go backpacking this weekend, because he has to do the accounting at work.

It's really difficult -- I certainly want him to do the accounting. Next weekend is Maddy's friend S.s birthday. The weekend after that is her school's Harvest Faire. We could go the next weekend, the 25th, but we'll probably get snowed on.

Maybe we could take just a little practice trip, just the girls and me this weekend.

I will be very sad if I can't go. I really want to go somewhere a bit cold, and with leaves.

You know.

Maybe we could go on our way to Arizona at Thanksgiving, although Kevin won't want the kids to miss school.

Frankly, I think it's okay to miss a little school.

I'm going to have to have my tooth out, too. Ugh ugh ugh.

Well, what else. I'm worrying about Nora and high school and especially worrying that she has that girl thing, where you think you're not as smart as you really are.

Bleh.

On the other hand, she's only 13. I don't think I thought I was smart until I was in high school. However, I think I have that horrible girl thing, too.

Ohhhhhh.

Hey -- I've been reading this mystery by Elizabeth George. It's interesting to me how mysteries are about the mystery, but then they can also be about something else entirely. This one seems to be about love and relationships. There's an unhappy married couple where the husband insists that the wife have children and stay home, although this makes her miserable. There's another couple where the husband won't let the wife have children. There's an ex-couple who had a kid -- There's an unhappy lesbian couple (one of them wants a normal life, the other is psychotic) There's the detective, who's healthily in love with the sister of the woman with too many children --

In short, it's also sort of about women in relationships, and what kind of relationship works for them.

It's interesting to me, too, how many mysteries are about love-gone-wrong. Which of course is often the cause of the crime --

Anyway.

And so --

Got to go.

out of print - new releases

find me! - 2008-02-12
where I've gone - 2008-02-07
Where I've gone - 2008-02-05
where I've gone - 2008-02-01
New - 2008-02-01

Diaryland

design by simplify.