Fog -- mental and otherwise

2004-07-05 - 10:22 a.m.

Hmmm.

I am here. At work. This is because of the guilt I feel about going away on vacation.

Ho hum.

My friends from Vermont came though, and it was great to see them! Anke was my friend when I first moved out here. She's from Germany, although her husband is from, I think, Illinois. But now they live in Vermont. We met on Saturday at Kevin's office (she's an architect). Then we went to a remembered cafe, and to the architectire building, and then up to the botanical garden, and then to a remembered grocery store (unfortunately closed) and then to another one, and then home to make dinner. She's got a 17 year old boy, a 14 year old boy, a 14 year old visiting niece, and a 12 year old girl. It's too bad Nora was gone, but Maddy and Marlene hung out. I think they would actually like each other if they knew each other. The 17 year old is adorable and very sweet. The 14 year old is a bit of a pill, but in a totally understandable way. He hated San Francisco. He liked Vermont just fine. Anwyay, it was really fun --

And yesterday -- we went over to my brother's for a barbeque, which was also fun. His kids were there, and it was probably the only time we've ever really clicked with them. Probably because we've seen them fairly often, now. And I'm beginning to really like his boyfriend.

I'm a little sad to be going away for so long, because I think we could actually have a lot of fun here --

We went to see the fireworks, but it was so fogged in that while we watched from Pt. Isabel, Brooks Island disappeared beneath a black cloud. We could not even see the Berkeley fireworks. And it was freezing.

So we came home.

In a sense, it seems more patriotic not to go see fireworks at all.

You know, not to support all that hoo ha, while there are really explosions going on to no purpose over in Iraq.

Okay, that's it for my political rant.

Anyway.

Nora's still at camp. (She's been there 5 days now.) I hope she's having a great time. In fact, I'm sure she is.

Okay, then.

Got to get a few things done here --

Bye.

out of print - new releases

find me! - 2008-02-12
where I've gone - 2008-02-07
Where I've gone - 2008-02-05
where I've gone - 2008-02-01
New - 2008-02-01

Diaryland

design by simplify.