tests

2005-04-28 - 3:54 p.m.

So. I was absolutely starving, so I finally went out and got a huge and enormous lunch. It was quite good. I think the fact that it's rather cold is what made me so hungry. In any case. It was nice.

Maddy just called. Nora bought a turntable with her babysitting earnings. (She also bought a receiver, on credit. Credit from me, that is.) It came. She called me before she left for school (late -- ubiquitous testing meant she didn't have to be at school until 12:00) to say that the turntable had arrived. Also, she lost her beautiful new bathing suit that she only got yesterday. Hmmm.

Anyway, Maddy called because there was another package on the doorstep -- apparently some kind of beige sweater (Bleh!) from my mother. Maybe it's better than it sounded.

Also, it has stopped raining, and the weather was -- about an hour ago -- absolutely gorgeous. Don't know what it's like now.

It really feels like Friday, but it isn't.

Okay -- got to go.

Bye!

Oh -- this testing! It is too much. Nora confided in me that she doesn't even read the little essays -- she just answers the questions. "They're all the same!" she told me. It is the kind of testing that doesn't mean anything for her -- it's for the state -- so they can decide that all children are illiterate and all schools should be replaced by private industry or something. So it is important that kids take it -- if there isn't a presence of 95% of kids at the test there is some dire consequence for the school -- and it is important that literate and numerate kids take the test (to counterbalance the illiterate and unnumerate) but really, it's all just too much. And next year there will be the exit exam, and AP tests, and I suppose the PSAT. It's really just too much -- no one can be expected to even try on such a repetitious bunch of boring tests.

I'm not even really morally opposed to testing, but it is clear that it is very difficult to even stay awake if you are subjected to too many stupid tests.

Bah.

out of print - new releases

find me! - 2008-02-12
where I've gone - 2008-02-07
Where I've gone - 2008-02-05
where I've gone - 2008-02-01
New - 2008-02-01

Diaryland

design by simplify.