haircut

2005-05-27 - 10:09 a.m.

Okay, guys. I went yesterday to get my haircut. (It's okay, I think, although it could be shorter.) Getting one's hair cut is always a bit problematic. You're sitting in this chair. This person you don't know is cutting your hair (and washing it for you!). They sort of have to get a sense of what you'd like. You (or at least I) feel compelled to be sort of entertaining -- especially since I can't really imagine anything worse than a job cutting the hair of a bunch of people I don't really know. (Well, maybe masseuse). But -- big surprise -- I'm not really a beauty person. I never have been. I think I'm essentially decent looking, and it's not that I wouldn't like to be stunning, but for some reason (lack of interest? lack of skill? lack of time? -- although it's not like I don't waste time on lots of other things) my plan is to do enough to look okay and not worry too much beyond that. Of course, as you get older, you sort of start falling apart anyway and then you'd have to invest HUGE amounts of time into looking stunning, and substantial amounts to look decent, and honestly, I just don't have that kind of time. Also, I think, I've always thought it was better to just look like what you look like. I do actually miss my very dark hair -- it's now going grey -- and I can actually understand, and have even thought about, coloring it, but I think I have too much of a commitment to things-as-they-are to actually do it. Although -- who knows -- I may change my mind.

Anyway -- so I went to get my haircut, and the hairdresser is pretty chatty, although not in a bad way, and it turns out she lives near me, and if we'd sent my kids to public elementary school they would have gone to school with her kid, but her kid is now with the kid's dad, LIVING IN THE TOWN I GREW UP IN!!! It was so bizarre. She lives over near the high school my sisters went to, although it's now a middle school, and she goes to the other high school I didn't go to, and she wants to take the train into the city to go to dance classes. How funny. I miss my home town, actually.

Anyway -- I think it all combined so I felt like I was my childhood self being beauty-tortured by my sisters, so when she wanted to wax my eyebrows and dye my eyelashes I said, "sure, go ahead," and today I am a vision of beauty. Sort of. I celebrated by wearing my jeans and a ratty cashmere sweater -- much like what my former teenage self wore everyday.

It was sort of a relief to remember that in my family, oh yeah, I was the eccentric one who read all the time and did not worry much about my eyebrows. Funny.

Okay. Important stuff to do, now.

out of print - new releases

find me! - 2008-02-12
where I've gone - 2008-02-07
Where I've gone - 2008-02-05
where I've gone - 2008-02-01
New - 2008-02-01

Diaryland

design by simplify.