final lunch date

2005-07-29 - 11:32 a.m.

OKay, now I'm reading other teenage blogs, but not of distressed kids. More like the kind of kid I think I was. Here's one

Why am I telling you this?

I guess I'm trying to figure out what I want for Nora.

I guess I'm a little worried about the culture of LUPS. I went to school in suburban Connecticut. It was possible to get into trouble there, but getting into trouble wasn't the dominant thing, the way it seems to be here. We thought we were being wild when we celebrated the Rites of Spring. (I think we got up early and ate bagels.) I don't know -- I can't quite put a finger on it.

You should feel out of sorts in high school, but it should also be understood that you're working really hard and being challenged and that then you're going to leave and go someplace where that will continue.

Hmmm.

I can't quite articulate this. I'm having lunch with my friend A., who has a son a year older who has also been mired in the doldrums. I'm hoping he's snapped out of it, and that she'll have some advice.

Otherwise we might have to move to New Canaan. [JUST KIDDING.]

out of print - new releases

find me! - 2008-02-12
where I've gone - 2008-02-07
Where I've gone - 2008-02-05
where I've gone - 2008-02-01
New - 2008-02-01

Diaryland

design by simplify.