trees

2006-11-29 - 10:15 a.m.

It is cold here! Hooray!

Well, at least cold enough not to sweat to death when you wear a sweater outside. Also, I have a lovely shawl I bought in Italy for 15 euros (it's actually made in India) and it's wool and very warm and I wore that, too!

Plus, I took the old car in to the garage, our old garage, and then walked to work which was quite pleasant in the cold.

I like our old garage, and was quite happy to bring the old car there. They won't work on the new car, because it's a Subaru, but the problem is that Toyota for a long time didn't make a reasonable station wagon/4wd. We didn't want a big sort of thing, so we were forced to buy a Subaru.

Which has been fine, but I don't think they're quite as good as Toyotas. Our 89 Corolla wagon is still in fine fettle.

Yes, well.

Book group last night. We all agreed that Gilead was a fine piece of fiction, and our next book is The inheritance of loss by Kiran Desai. Also, we solved all the problems of the high school, which was highly satisfying.

Also, I am so glad we moved. I didn't realize how much I would like it, but I really do. I like living here, in the middle of things, in the middle of an interesting place. I really really do. It somehow makes a huge difference to me. Funny.

Now, I need to plant some trees. A ginko, and a California buckeye, to begin with, and in the back a bigleaf maple, a fig, and a toyon.

Okay. Now I have to get to work.

Thank god for cold weather.

out of print - new releases

find me! - 2008-02-12
where I've gone - 2008-02-07
Where I've gone - 2008-02-05
where I've gone - 2008-02-01
New - 2008-02-01

Diaryland

design by simplify.