Experiments in holiday making

2006-12-18 - 10:14 a.m.

Hmmm.

I think we just have to accept the fact that it's a little hard to make christmas when your bedroom is full of boxes.

What I mean, I guess, is that christmas is kind of a lot of work. I love christmas, and usually I like doing all the stuff (although, honestly, I never get half the stuff done I want to get done), but this year it's a little rough.

For instance, we did go buy a tree on Saturday (pictures to follow soon, I promise), and we got it put up and positioned. But it's ginormous, and after about 6 strings of lights I ran out, and it still needs about three more. Four, even. And then I have to go up into the attic (again) and see if I can find the other box of ornaments -- the one which has our stockings, for instance.

It's going to be a great house for Christmas, but I think we're better off viewing this year as experimental.

Anyway, but we did get the tree half-lighted (and it looks pretty -- less like the March of the Forest has invaded our house, more like something we meant to do). We did make latkes, and I have to say that my latkes are pretty damn delicious. Our new stove, with its powerful jetmaster burner, is great for frying things into crispy bombs of caloric goodness. Yum, yum, yum.

Also, we've fashioned a menorah of sorts.

We're not Jewish, so it seems a little odd, but for some reason N really wants to celebrate Hannukah. So we are, after a fashion. We light the candles and sing Oh Hannukah. It is kind of nice, actually. It's nice to have the number of candles change every night. You can see time passing.

Anyway -- we'll probably be smited by the god of the israelites for blasphemy, but there you go.

But that's about as far as I've gotten.

Yikes.

Okay. Now some tea.

Or perhaps jetfuel.

Bye.

out of print - new releases

find me! - 2008-02-12
where I've gone - 2008-02-07
Where I've gone - 2008-02-05
where I've gone - 2008-02-01
New - 2008-02-01

Diaryland

design by simplify.