Report from Portland

2007-01-30 - 10:25 a.m.

Hello!

I have been to Portland. (Oregon).

It was nice - very nice indeed. It has great public transit, a well-used downtown (and public library), a fantastic bookstore, food, reasonable cost of living, pretty scenery. I would totally live there.

I realize that it wasn't raining when I was there, and perhaps, if it rains as much as they say it does, I might change my mind. But what I saw was great.

It's actually really pretty, and it's colder than here, which to me seems good.

Then we drove out to Walla Walla, WA, and that was nice, too.

The verdict, as rendered by N, is that she would consider Re3d.

She didn't really like L3wis and Cl@rk, and she doesn't want to be out in the middle of nowhere (i.e. Wh1tman).

We're at the very beginning of this whole process, but what we know is ... smallish liberal arts college with campus near reasonably sized city, with a campusy sort of feel and easily available thai food -- this would do.

She was a little worried that there weren't so many people around --

Anyway.

Powell's was absolutely amazing. Bookstores are going out of business left and right around here. It makes you think they might want to go look at Powell's and see what they're doing right.

People do read here, too --

Okay, got to go --

out of print - new releases

find me! - 2008-02-12
where I've gone - 2008-02-07
Where I've gone - 2008-02-05
where I've gone - 2008-02-01
New - 2008-02-01

Diaryland

design by simplify.