thanksgiving

2007-11-25 - 11:18 a.m.

So --

We are back from Thanksgiving. It's N's birthday and, coincidentally, K's and my anniversary.

Here's the update:

Enormous stress to get out of here and off to the airport Tuesday night. But the airport itself was empty, and we got to my mother's AZ condo in no time.

My grandmother is good. She looks like herself. She's taking short walks woth her walker. She broke her hip in July, had to have it replaced, had to go back to the hospital in October for a blood clot, is 96 years old -- but she looks good, and in a way, I think the whole experience was a bit of an adventure. She has emerged acquainted with a whole new class of society which is actually not the worst thing in the world. And, it wasn't boring.

Anyway. Much of my mother's family is insane. I've got an uncle who looks like a demented lumberjack who works as a greeter at W*lm8art, another who's a real estate agent in North Dakota, and aunt who's a crazy dog lady with an RV in rural AZ -- but my cousin and his wife are great, and my brother is a bit demented, but a great cook (and a nice guy), and his wife is very nice. And they have some friends who were there who were reasonable people.

It's always a bit strained -- my mother wants me to do this and then that, it's one of the few times that K isn't working, and it's often N's birthday, but this time we sort of took it slow. I spent a lot of time with my grandmother. I escaped and went for a walk at the botanical garden, which is lovely. M read a book, and N got some homework done. Plus we went shopping for her birthday party, which was good -- I got to spend a few hours alone with her, which was good.

We got home yesterday morning at about 10. There was a mad dash -- N's party this year (when she is 18) is a camping trip with 8 friends at a campsite on the ocean. It's about a two mile walk in. There was a full moon, and it was freezing, I am sure, but you can have a campfire on the beach, and they have tents and sleeping bags and winter coats, so I assume they are okay. It sounded like so much fun, and I am completely jealous. Hopefully no one drowned.

They left about two, and then K and I went to a 50th birthday party for a friend, which was fun, and came home and went to bed about 9:00. Because we are old and decepit and had been awake since 5.

And today we walked down to the local place and had breakfast out and read the paper, which was entirely pleasant. M stayed home and waited for us to bring her a croissant.

The talk at the party was all about new stages of life, because everyone's kids are growing up and going off to college, and all the women are well into menopause, with parents who are aging ...

Hard to say from here, of course, but I think it's going to be okay.

Got to run --

out of print - new releases

find me! - 2008-02-12
where I've gone - 2008-02-07
Where I've gone - 2008-02-05
where I've gone - 2008-02-01
New - 2008-02-01

Diaryland

design by simplify.