day after

2007-11-26 - 1:00 p.m.

Urghh.

It takes a while to get going.

N came back from her camp out. I think it was a success. Well, no one got lost or eaten by bears. They seem to have eaten all the food, and drunk the champagne, and had the fire and slept in the tents. Apparently two of them slept in one tent, and the other seven slept in the other because they were playing cards and it was cold and no one wanted to move to the third tent. So, I'm sure they stayed warm.

We had a festive dinner when she got back. I made this cake, which is really delicious. The cake is very dense, and the frosting is a little bit sour. It's delicious.

And now I'm back at work.

I did get the house cleaned up a little. It was so pleasant to have most of yesterday to potter around and put things away and get dinner ready and throw away the junk mail ...

I think that Thanksgiving and N's birthday are the season openers for the holidays, but also for winter, when it's okay to be inside and pottering around. The world has spun around and now it's winter. I do love winter.

I'm happy that we're home for Christmas and only going to Pittsburgh for three days. I like being in Pittsburgh, but it's going to be nice to be at home.

And next year, I doubt we will go to AZ for Thanksgiving, either, and the thought of being home for Thanksgiving is also pleasing.

Our house is finally feeling like our house --

Okay, got to go.

Oh, I'm reading The Abstinence Teacher by Tom Perrotta, and I'm liking it.

That is all ...

out of print - new releases

find me! - 2008-02-12
where I've gone - 2008-02-07
Where I've gone - 2008-02-05
where I've gone - 2008-02-01
New - 2008-02-01

Diaryland

design by simplify.