Bah.

2002-10-04 - 8:59 a.m.

OKay --

I came in early today, which means that it was even a little chilly out! Yay!

But now I'm in here -- a weather free zone.

Hmm. I watched the end of Braveheart last night. I don't know. I just don't know.

Certainly many of us come from those British islands -- my ancestry is pretty much Irish, Scottish and English. And somehow that means something to us, although why I'm not sure. In my case, it was quite a while ago.

But why do we like these sappy movies about British and Irish history?

And anyway, what does it mean? We don't actually learn that history -- or, at least, I didn't. So I have no context.

It seems to me that they have a fairly complicated history, and were all in bed with each other at some point or other.

I mean, here you've got the Scots and the English fighting each other. But four hundred years later, you've got one of my ancestors coming to Canada in the British army.

I don't know -- I think I just don't have the context, but it makes me rather cynical about the whole thing. Why make it such a big deal to be separate if you're just going to join up in the end, anyway? And were the Scottish nobles any better than the English? They certainly didn't seem so in the movie --

Humph.

Another project for my retirement.

Bye, then.

out of print - new releases

find me! - 2008-02-12
where I've gone - 2008-02-07
Where I've gone - 2008-02-05
where I've gone - 2008-02-01
New - 2008-02-01

Diaryland

design by simplify.