lunar eclipse

2002-11-21 - 9:10 a.m.

Heh heh heh.

I'm tired. I rushed in to work today, after cleaning up the house for the housecleaners. Those poor housecleaners. Their hearts must sink when they open the door and see the huge disaster waiting for them. Maddy has some sort of animal kingdom set up on the coffee table. There are papers from the moonie paper and the science test all over the dining room table. The kitchen floor is full of mud by the door, from probably two weekends ago. The girls room is full of piles of clothing -- some too small for anyone, some for summer, some too small for Nora and too big for Maddy --

I really should have done something about it when I was home waiting for the window guy, but instead I watched the Sopranos.

Hmmm.

The sky was pretty when I drove in this morning -- with those high cirrus clouds. A winter sky, I realized. Even though it's 55 degrees out, and expected to reach the 70s.

Funny.

What else is new -- I went to a talk at Nora's school yesterday about ERB tests (standardized tests kids take at school). I think Nora actually did better than I thought she did. The talker was the head of the school, and I like her a lot. She's smart, and I like her philosophy. She seems concerned with academic stuff, but also with rest-of-person stuff. It's interesting. Of all the schools I've been around, I think she's probably the best trained head-of-school I've been around. I actually think she knows what she's doing.

And she's smart -- did I mention that?

Before I went, though, we were all hanging out in the living room. It was so very pleasant. I can't even remember what we were doing -- I was reading -- a book that Maddy's supposed to read, actually -- and Kevin was probably reading the paper, and Maddy was probably playing with the jungle kingdom on the coffee table, and Nora was maybe lolling on the couch.

It was very comfortable, and I didn't want to go anywhere.

I think one of the things I'm happiest about is that there are times when we can all hang out in one room and actually enjoy each other's company. We feel comfortable with each other. I'm not sure it was ever that way in my family when I was growing up. For one thing, there were just more of us.

But I'm not sure we were all so comfortable with each other.

All right -- I have a million things to do, and I think I will just go do them.

Bye --

out of print - new releases

find me! - 2008-02-12
where I've gone - 2008-02-07
Where I've gone - 2008-02-05
where I've gone - 2008-02-01
New - 2008-02-01

Diaryland

design by simplify.