more than this

2002-12-04 - 9:56 a.m.

Hmmm.

I had a dream last night that I went to see the gynecologist, and had an enormous tattoo on my abdomen. Very odd. I think he was impressed. I think Nora had put it there, and it wasn't permanent.

Maybe this dream results from the facts that I am going to the gynecologist next week, and Nora told me I should dye my hair pink. She thinks it would look good, because the gray parts would turn pink, and the rest would be its normal black.

Hmmm.

I have been reading the Clan of the Cave Bear. What a stupid book! Someone recommended that we listen to it on tape in the car. We didn't, and it's a good thing. It's pretty dreadful, and there is a fair amount of cave-man sex in it.

I think I'm not ready to listen to descriptions of cave-man sex around the girls.

The idea is interesting -- the author seems to feel that CroMagnons (I think that's who she's talking about) had a very sophisticated intelligence of their own. Sort of a mystical, race-memory sort fo intelligence. So I assume that it's a good thing that some of the sex involved cromagnons and neanderthals. (It may be that I've got these reversed.) Because then, of course, we can be descended from both.

I don't know.

Terrible as the book is, I now want to read the next one.

I was going to say that it's awfully old-fashioned, but I looked it up, and it turns out it was written in 1980, which is not so very long ago.

It feels long ago, though.

Hmmm.

I guess I mean that the idea of writing about cave people is sort of interesting -- I wonder how much of it is based on any kind of fact, and how much isn't. She gives them a very structured social organization. On the one hand I wonder, how realistic is that? Could people really live in such a structured way? Did, for instance, native tribes, or even early Europeans? Do, for instance, pack animals?

Hmmm.

Anyway --

Bye.

out of print - new releases

find me! - 2008-02-12
where I've gone - 2008-02-07
Where I've gone - 2008-02-05
where I've gone - 2008-02-01
New - 2008-02-01

Diaryland

design by simplify.