skiing

2003-01-17 - 9:17 a.m.

It's foggy today -- so much for the views.

It was amazingly clear again last night, though. I picked Maddy, and then Nora, up at sunset.

Nora is sad that it's getting light again -- ?

I went for a walk in our neighborhood at about 6:15 last night. I have a new plan to exercise every day, even if it's only for half an hour. It reminded me of being in college, though. I knew a woman -- Pamela. I lived with her senior year, and then she actually moved out to California around the same time I did, and lived with Anne, who is now in my book group. Then she got married, and moved to Minnesota, I think. I think she's got a kid about the age of Nora.

Anyway. Pamela was an odd one, but she liked to walk around at dusk and look in people's windows. Not walk up in peer in, just walk by and glance in and imagine who lived there and what they did. There's something very peaceful about people's houses at night. I think it was especially appealing because we were college students at the time, living in squalor, and it was appealing to see people living in dusted homes with curtains and tasteful lighting. I'd never thought about it, but I liked to do the same thing, and I still actually do. I don't go out walking much after dark -- we live in an urban neighborhood, and it may not be completely safe. But actually, it's a fairly safe neighborhood -- I think it's fine.

So --

I'm trying to think of any other news --

I talked to my friend Lynn last night, and she IS coming out for the week we have off in February. So I'll look into houses to rent up in the snow. That will be fun. We had a long conversation about children. Her son, who is eight, and very bright, has some trouble writing and being organized. So she's worried, and she also has to pick a new school for him next year since his only goes through 2nd grade.

Nothing is more worrying than worrying about your kids and school, partly since it's so hard to separate real concerns from general worries. She's worried he'll end up like his father, who is completely disorganized. You can't rule out that he will, but it seems likely that his father's problems are not entirely genetic.

I think he's a bit like Maddy - it's hard for him to sit down and focus on the things he's supposed to focus on. With Maddy it's partly that she's afraid she won't be able to do it, and partly that she's got other things on her mind. With Lucas, though, I think it's mostly that he's got other things on his mind.

I think he'll be fine -- I think some kids are just more suited for what they want you to do in school than others -- but then, what do I know? It's not like I'm an expert in this field.

I think it also helps to have more than one kid -- you get more worn out if you have at least two, and you can't get into a frenzy about each thing.

I think.

Okay, then -- I need some tea.

--Bye.

out of print - new releases

find me! - 2008-02-12
where I've gone - 2008-02-07
Where I've gone - 2008-02-05
where I've gone - 2008-02-01
New - 2008-02-01

Diaryland

design by simplify.