bad husbands

2003-09-24 - 4:30 p.m.

Okay.

I have to go pick up the kids, now.

It's chilly outside. Sort of.

There's a raging debate going on at gofigure about husbands who don't clean up, or help with the house. Hmmm.

Should you have to remind them? Does that make you their mother?

I don't have the answer to this. All I know is that at my house, it seems to be pretty much my responsibility to cook dinner and clean the house.

I think I know that, at least at my house, getting really mad about it does not work.

And -- I have to say that I do know some men who are actually really good about cooking and cleaning. I am certainly going to encourage my children, when looking for spouses, to weight the ability to cook, clean, and shop very heavily. (I should have known with Kevin -- before we were even hooked up we lived in a communal house, and we were supposed to cook dinner together, and he wanted to ditch cooking to go to a party, and I said okay, because I thought he was sort of cute. Serves me right.) But I do actually know men who can tidy up a room, cook and read a newspaper at the same time, go to the store and return with useful items. I just somehow don't happen to be married to one of them.

I would be interested in anyone knew of any good training methods, but actually, I sort of don't think there's much I can do. I mean, it's not like I haven't been complaining, asking nicely, instructing, etc. for 25 years. I think it's pretty much hopeless.

--He does take out the cat litter --

I really don't know.

My mother noticed his helplessness once, and remarked that he does, after all, share a birthday with my grandfather. My grandfather whose mother sent him down to the basement for some potatoes only to wonder, hours later, where Tom was. Well, he was still in the basement, thinking about something.

Which doesn't make it all right, or any less annoying or unfair.

But there it is.

Feh.

out of print - new releases

find me! - 2008-02-12
where I've gone - 2008-02-07
Where I've gone - 2008-02-05
where I've gone - 2008-02-01
New - 2008-02-01

Diaryland

design by simplify.