Raisin bagel

2003-10-07 - 11:02 a.m.

So, I voted absentee.

I still cannot believe this madness. We talked about it at my book club last night. We normally don't get exercized about politics, but this is just one step beyond --

Also, we'd read Ella Minnow Pea, which is sort of about arbitrary abuses of power by governments.

Although I think what we have here is cynical abuses of California's insane electoral set-up (recalls, initiatives) by evil people with far too much money, and then moronic behavior on the part of California's electorate.

It's enough to make you worry that perhaps democracy is not always the best thing -- especially when you have the crappiest school system in the nation.

Oh well.

We'll see.

No one knows what is going to happen.

Time to think again of Canada.

What else --

Oh! So I went to book group, and I came home, and the girls had done all the things they were supposed to do, and Kevin had fed them dinner (!!!) and even cleaned up a little! They were all sitting around watching the sopranos.

Ugh.

Bye.

out of print - new releases

find me! - 2008-02-12
where I've gone - 2008-02-07
Where I've gone - 2008-02-05
where I've gone - 2008-02-01
New - 2008-02-01

Diaryland

design by simplify.