So --

2004-02-05 - 12:09 p.m.

Okay, here's something a little funny --

Nora wants to go to camp with some friends of hers from school. It's a sleepaway camp, and it sounds like a lot of fun. But it's a Jewish camp, and on the website it has lots of things about -- I don't know -- teaching things about Jewish life. It's totally fine with me, but I will admit it feels a little odd. I would expect maybe Jewish parents applying to a Catholic high school might feel the same way. Well, I have no fear that they might try to convert her -- I don't think the Jews have the same record as the Catholics, there. Even if she wants to become Jewish, I think it would be okay as long as she wanted to be the secular sort of Jewish. But it's more like -- you don't want to step on any toes, you don't want to offend anyone -- it's sort of like what it felt like when you were small to go over to someone else's house for dinner. You don't quite know their ways and habits and you hope you don't do anything awful. Anyway -- I left a message with the director -- I feel like I should warn them that she's not Jewish at all. If there are any hymns or anything that a person would be expected to know, she certainly won't know them. Then I filled out the application and went to put a stamp on it to mail it in. But what kinds of stamps do I have? Christmas stamps! I debated -- there's one of a goat or something with a horn, something not particularly Christian. But I don't think so -- that might just be the terrible mistake that will cause them to reject her out of hand.

Oh, and then there's the fact that my name is Chris. I don't think of it as a particularly Christian sort of name -- I'm named after my great grandmother and a whole chain of Christina's before her. But there it is.

Oh well --

I really hope they take her.

Got to go.

out of print - new releases

find me! - 2008-02-12
where I've gone - 2008-02-07
Where I've gone - 2008-02-05
where I've gone - 2008-02-01
New - 2008-02-01

Diaryland

design by simplify.