pleasant

2004-05-14 - 11:21 a.m.

Ha -- I am here.

Had to go to a meeting down in Riverside yesterday. Riverside is very far away -- you have to take a plane there. I had to get up at 4:30, and I got home at 8:30 (involving all sort of childcare and driving issues), but it was unexpectedly quite fun. The people I went with were very fun. It was good.

Now I have to go have lunch with a woman who is the mother of a girl Nora used to know first in preschool, and then in 1-3rd grade. Then they became estranged. I haven't seen her in years -- it should be interesting.

Hmm.

Anyway. I had meant to ride my bike, but didn't (no time). I've had nowhere near enough sleep. Both of these things can be attributed to Maddy's current ridiculous writing load. She's writing this paper on Hawaii that's currently 9 or 10 pages long. I had to type the last chapter of it this morning. It was five pages! She also had a book report due -- had to be on a historical fiction (she chose Justin Morgan had a Horse.) She typed half of that, but by then it was 11:00. She's only 12, for crying out loud. I know there are 12 years olds who are really good at typing, but it doesn't seem to me that it ought to be expected.

Anyway. So I am oppressed by papers that aren't even my own, but because they are finished, and handed in, I have that cheery handed-in feeling.

Also, I am wearing a new sweater. It's green. It's almost, one might say, kelly green. Hmmm. I like it, but I'm not sure I really should.

But it feels springy, and cheerful, and so do I, mostly, although mostly I would like to go back to bed.

There you have it.

-Bye.

out of print - new releases

find me! - 2008-02-12
where I've gone - 2008-02-07
Where I've gone - 2008-02-05
where I've gone - 2008-02-01
New - 2008-02-01

Diaryland

design by simplify.