horses

2004-09-03 - 1:23 p.m.

So.

I'm not sure what I've told anyone, but school seems to be all right. Nora likes high school. She likes her classes, and the bigness of it, and taking the bus there, and buying lunch -- everything about it seems to be good. She's sad that she's not taking photography, but I'm not sure she's willing to be there at 7:30, which she'd have to do in order to take photography. So --

And middle school seems okay, too, although I'm a little worried about these kids in afterschool who were apparently holding their breath in an attempt to make themselves pass out ...

Homework seems okay so far in both cases -- they're keeping up, and it is not too horrible yet. I'm sure it will get more horrible, but at least it is not completely overwhelming the first week. Which is good!

We went to see Caval1a last night -- I'm not exactly sure where it comes from, but it's sort of like a c1rque du sole1l but with lots of horses. I always feel sort of guilty about liking things like that (what is the point of this -- these bendy people) but it was actually really nice. You know, the cheesy music, etc. But the horses were really beautiful and really well trained. Taking Maddy to riding lessons means I know a little bit more about things that are hard for horses to do -- like go backward -- which made it more enjoyable, because I knew when things were impressive, and I might not have otherwise. Kevin said the same -- Anyway, I'm glad we went, even though it was on a Thursday, and it meant that Nora was up til midnight with her homework, and Maddy finished hers this morning at breakfast.

In other news, I'm feeling somewhat frazzled, and the sleeves of my shirt are too tight and I hate that.

And I've got a new Henning Mantell book -- the white lioness -- and I think it's the best yet.

xxx

me.

out of print - new releases

find me! - 2008-02-12
where I've gone - 2008-02-07
Where I've gone - 2008-02-05
where I've gone - 2008-02-01
New - 2008-02-01

Diaryland

design by simplify.