Time for fall planting

2004-09-13 - 8:59 a.m.

I like this new schedule -- Maddy has to be at school by 8, and Nora has to catch the bus at 7:44, so I have no trouble at all, usually, getting to work by 8:30.

I feel very virtuous, although tired.

It was an insanely busy weekend. Maddy's 4 elementary school friends slept over on Friday. They're an odd bunch, really. I sent them to the park, and that helped. They watched Amalie, and apparently liked it although Simone was complaining bitterly that it was in French when I left. Nora and I ditched them and went to see Vanity Fair, which I liked. I think Nora was troubled by the generally unlikeability of most of the characters.

Then, one of the four had to get up at 7 to go to a baseball game, which meant they all, and I, had to get up. Ugh.

Anyway -- the weekend proceded from there -- two more friends slept over on Saturday night, and the Solano Stroll was on Sunday -- I don't have to go anymore, since the kids can now go on their own. Hooray! It's a little fun, but mostly dragging up and down the street wiht an enormous crush of people

in the heat --ugh. You do run into everyone you know, which is fun, but funner for them, maybe.

Anyway, then we went over to friends house for dinner, which was very fun, and then we rushed home so people could get their homework done --

And now it's Monday.

I've been reading more Swedish detective novels -- now ones by Maj Sjowall and Per Wahloo. I love them. These are about the sixties. And neglecting my book group book, which is native speaker by Chang-Rae Lee. Probably a very decent book, but I'm just not in the mood, thank you very much.

Anyway -- I think that's about all, although also I did manage to get Maddy's room cleaned up (!!) and her new curtains (which have been sitting around for over a year) hemmed and hung. Now, we need to get her a bigger bookcase and a mattress for the top bunk and her room will be great. It actually really needs painting, too, but it's already much much better.

Yay.

Okay, then.

Got to go.

I think our new, better vacuum cleaner has cleaned my life, too.

Yay.

Bye.

out of print - new releases

find me! - 2008-02-12
where I've gone - 2008-02-07
Where I've gone - 2008-02-05
where I've gone - 2008-02-01
New - 2008-02-01

Diaryland

design by simplify.