blindsided

2004-09-27 - 2:03 p.m.

Here's the thing.

I think Kevin's father really isn't doing well at all, and in that case, it's quite possible that he might die.

I mean, he's 82 and not in very good shape.

But then I wonder, why on earth did he have this surgery? I mean, if he was going to die, wouldn't it be better to do it at home, and without a breathing tube stuck in his throat? We could have all come to visit him at Thanksgiving, and had a nice time, and it would have been better.

I guess they really didn't know for sure that the surgery would kill him.

But I hate the way this whole thing was sprung on him. And us.

At least Brian got to go out and visit him.

I feel like we all should have gone to visit. Now he'll die, and no one will have been able to say good bye.

It just seems like a pretty awful way to die.

I really don't want to die at all, but when I do, I don't want it to be like that. I want to either die suddenly, or else, if I know it's coming, I want to spend a summer someplace I really really like and with my family and my best friends, and then I want to be okay with it, and then die at home.

I know I'm being selfish and hardhearted about the whole thing, but I think you sort of have to be. I wish they would have told us they were thinking about this so we could have gone and spent some time with them this summer.

That's all I have to say, I think.

Bye.

out of print - new releases

find me! - 2008-02-12
where I've gone - 2008-02-07
Where I've gone - 2008-02-05
where I've gone - 2008-02-01
New - 2008-02-01

Diaryland

design by simplify.