torment by shopping

2005-07-25 - 1:53 p.m.

Okay. I'm trying to think of anything interesting at all to tell you ....

I'm reading Fortune's Daughter by Isabel Allende. It's okay. Amazing how much it's like that book by Rose Tremain, THe Colour. I think I liked that one better, but I'm not sure why.

It's possible I'm just being a pill.

It's also possible that The Colour had better interior lives for its characters. This Allende book features a lot of telling and not so much showing.

Let's see what else --

Nora's gone off to Stinson with some friends from middle school. I'm trying to figure out why I have a bad feeling about a girl she met this year. I can only express it by saying she seems a bit too facile. She seems so eager to glom onto N. and her friends. And she also seems way too old for them. She's the child of sort of odd hippy/trustfund parents, and she wears high heels. But she's not stupid. I'm not sure if she's kind or not. Hmmm. Anyway -- she didn't go, and I feel sort of bad about being happy about it. Anyway.

Maddy and I went shopping yesterday. Poor child. She's always been sensitive and now it's like she has no skin whatsoever. We crossed the bay to the wealthy community just west of my poor blighted town, because -- what can I say -- I was raised in an upper-middle-class town and when I go shopping that seems to be what I'm looking for. Also, if you'd ever been to the mall where I live you'd agree that there is really no reason to go there at all. Anyway -- we went to the discount shoe place and found some sandals for Maddy, plus some new pants and a skirt at the big dept. store. It was all torture for her -- there were old ladies in the shoe store who she was certain were looking at her, and while she liked the pants, she didn't like the skirt --

Poor kid.

I think she will like it, eventually, and it's a good idea to have a few things to wear that aren't jeans --

Anyway. Then we came home. I think it actually was a sort of a successful day.

In any case.

I think I'll go now -- I have stuff to do.

She's nearly done with Harry P.

OKay -- Bye.

out of print - new releases

find me! - 2008-02-12
where I've gone - 2008-02-07
Where I've gone - 2008-02-05
where I've gone - 2008-02-01
New - 2008-02-01

Diaryland

design by simplify.