modern life

2006-02-03 - 9:15 a.m.

So --

E's mom is out of town. E's dad is home, but somewhat crabby, so E spent the night at our house last night, and then went to school with N at 7:00 this morning.

And, poor M was worn out with the idea of all the work she had to do for school, plus needing to practice, plus wanting some time to do nothing AND we're going skiing this weekend (horrors!), so she stayed home today. I think it was a good idea, actually. She is tired, and this way she can practice the piano and work on her To Kill a Mockingbird ginormous assignment and her World of Work ginormous assignment and also have a bit of time to lounge about. So that's good. I called her a while ago and she sounded quite cheery.

Also, she's heading off to DC for a week with a group not exactly from her school. I think it will be great, but also a little stressful, so it's important that she's not even slightly worn down before that happens, or she's doomed.

It does seem to me that life is more stressful for kids now than it used to be. Even piano involves taking some kind of test and passing into the next level. In theory it seems like a good idea, but in actual fact, I'm not sure it really is, at least for Maddy. It makes everything into an ordeal. Hmm.

In any case, now I've got to go --

Bye!

out of print - new releases

find me! - 2008-02-12
where I've gone - 2008-02-07
Where I've gone - 2008-02-05
where I've gone - 2008-02-01
New - 2008-02-01

Diaryland

design by simplify.