house ...

2006-04-24 - 12:21 p.m.

Oh -- I forgot to mention that they also have period wallpaper and portraits of old people with beards from 1906 scattered around.

I do like the wallpaper, but I think I wouldn't so much like to pretend I was actually living in 1906. They don't have a dishwasher, for instance. I am pretty sure I am glad we'll have a dishwasher.

Also, their floor has a nice detail that ours doesn't have, which makes me wonder if ours may have been replaced at some point.

And their old fireplace (which was just like ours) looks terrific. She redid the base of it with concrete that she stamped little stamps in, and it has a little brass thing around it that you can rest your feet on. That is pretty -- ours won't be so pretty.

Also, it was interesting to see how they set up the big dining/living room. Pretty much as I'd imagined it was intended to be used -- the dining room in the smaller left half (and if you keep the door into the hall closed, that does work, since that end can't be used as a passageway. In the right half, where the fireplace is, they've set up a little living area aroung the fireplace, and then the front room is another parlor sort of room. I think we won't set ours up that way, but it is interesting that they also concluded that that's how the room was designed.

Also, he had all kinds of historical information. The fire of 1924 stopped right across the street from us. !!! And the lot was originally the orchard for a big house up the hill.

Click back for an earlier entry.

out of print - new releases

find me! - 2008-02-12
where I've gone - 2008-02-07
Where I've gone - 2008-02-05
where I've gone - 2008-02-01
New - 2008-02-01

Diaryland

design by simplify.