chemistry

2006-05-10 - 10:21 a.m.

Woke up this morning with a sick feeling that I had been so worried about N being prepared for her AP test that I had forgotten to prepare for it myself, and now there was no way I would be able to answer any of the questions. I think I may even have been dreaming of telling N, "Oh no! I forgot!"

I was somewhat relieved when I began to realize that I would not be required to take it after all.

Heh heh heh.

I hope she does well -- she has been working hard all year, really. Based on how she did on the final she should get a 3 or a 4, which seems low to me. I took the test 30 years ago, basically without studying too much, since I was also taking american history and english, and got a 3. I did well in the class, but I really don't remember working anywhere near as hard as it seems that she has.

Anyway, since the final she's been studying predicting reactions, whatever that is, like a demon, so perhaps that will help. Her tutor thinks she ought to get a 4 or a 5.

Now you see why I've been dreaming about taking it myself?

Honestly, I accept the fact that she actually knows a lot, and also that she's a sophomore, and I would assume that nationally lots of kids who are taking it are juniors and seniors, so her score should not really matter all that much.

But I do hope she gets at least a 4 --

Ayy.

I sent her off with some snacks and three sharpened pencils (d1xon t1conderoga, best in the world, as it says on the box). Her calculator did not work this morning, so we had to stop and get batteries, but she was still on time. The snacks were taken, with considerable reluctance. But a carrot just might help!

I had to read to her as she fell asleep last night -- first the solubility rules and the list of polytomic atoms, over and over in a dull voice and then, thank god, Alice in Wonderland.

I think that's partly the reason for my dream. I sort of know some things -- permanganate may be MnO4 2+ (or perhaps not!) -- but have no idea what that means or what use one could make of such a fact.

Anyway. I think she's done about noon. Poor child.

out of print - new releases

find me! - 2008-02-12
where I've gone - 2008-02-07
Where I've gone - 2008-02-05
where I've gone - 2008-02-01
New - 2008-02-01

Diaryland

design by simplify.