100 best books of the part 25 years (American)

2006-06-29 - 1:17 p.m.

Oh, I know what I wanted to talk about! I knew there was something beside the house sagas.

Apparently, there was a NYT book review article about the 100 best American novels of the last 25 years. I was vaguely aware of this, but paid little attention, since things like that are usually sort of stupid.

BUT -- apparently the list had 1 book written by a woman.

!!!

So I'm compiling my own list. I think it's the list of the 100 best American novels of the last 25 years, which are coincidentally all going to have been written by women.

Anyway -- this is it so far:

Horse Heaven / Jane Smiley
The Secret Friend / Donna Tartt
Gilead / Marilynne Robinson

(possibly)
Poisonwood Bible / Barbara Kingsolver.

I'm going to go see if I can find the actual list -- just to see if my outrage is actually merited.

Update Okay, it's actually Best American Work of Fiction of the last 25 years (you'll probably have to register). And Beloved won it, but all the other works listed were a) by men and b) not what I'd choose.

Here's another I'd add: The Shipping News / Annie Proulx.

But -- I guess they interviewed a few authors, and this was their list. So -- you know, everyone's entitled to their own list. It doesn't actually claim to be definitive.

Hmmph.

out of print - new releases

find me! - 2008-02-12
where I've gone - 2008-02-07
Where I've gone - 2008-02-05
where I've gone - 2008-02-01
New - 2008-02-01

Diaryland

design by simplify.