dateline topeka

2006-06-29 - 11:08 a.m.

So, what is is, Thursday?

I can't even remember where I am --

N is at my mom's house, and sounds fine. M is quite busy with camp, but has nothing today except riding, which has her in ecstacy. And -- the piano thing seems to be okay. She's got some big performance on Monday, but seems to be in good shape. So she gets to loll around the house today, practising the piano, doing her drawing homework, and watching the animal planet. In her pajamas. Perfection.

I think she sort of likes having the house to herself ... In fact, it's possible that she likes it a lot!

We've picked out the shower door for the downstairs shower (cheapest one). The decorative trim is more beautiful than you can even imagine -- the shower is 3 x 6 white subway tile with a shower shelf and an inset soap dish (which I got for free!) and there's one band of of 3 x 8 trim which is also white and has little fish in relief swimming back and forth among some seaweed. I really like it.

I know I've said it before, but the new contractor who is doing the trim is so much better. He's got all the trim up upstairs. It looks so much better. It's almost ready for the painter to come in and start prepping. We're getting closer.

So far no one wants to buy our old house. K is completely distraught, but it's been on the market a week, so I can't see that it won't sell. Plus, really, it is a nice house and we've taken good care of it. It does seem that there's a craze for 50s houses, though, and ours is definitely 20s and craftsman. I like it better, but I recognise that I am somewhat idiocyncratic. It has great light, though, and great movement of air, and nice big public rooms, although somewhat smallish bedrooms. (Don't you want to buy it?)

Anyway --

That's pretty much all that's going on around here. Yesterday was madness -- I drove M to art camp (which is here on campus), then picked her up and took her out to riding camp, then later returned to pick her up (in between I went to work, but also picked up the new shower dealy for the tub upstairs, ordered the appliances, and talked to T. about trim for the downstairs and windows -- we've got window issues, too). Then my book group came over -- it seems that everyone is dealing with collapsing parents. Which is rough.

T yesterday told me that our house had been abused. Which is certainly true, poor old thing.

But it's already looking really good. Really!

Meanwhile, I have a million other things to do ... Okay --

Oh -- we read Everything is Illuminated, which we liked, mostly. I've also read Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, which I also liked -- it is pretty likable. Now we're reading Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami. I hope it will be good.

Okay -- that's all.

out of print - new releases

find me! - 2008-02-12
where I've gone - 2008-02-07
Where I've gone - 2008-02-05
where I've gone - 2008-02-01
New - 2008-02-01

Diaryland

design by simplify.