news boycott

2006-09-06 - 10:44 a.m.

Oh, I think I should also update you on my news boycott.

When I was on vacation, I paid no attention to the news whatsoever. It was great!

Also, it has come to my attention that nothing I think makes any difference at all. I knew five years ago that the war in Iraq was a disaster. Did anyone ask my opinion? No!

So I've decided to just pay no attention at all. The country, and the world, is going to go to hell in a handbasket, but there's really nothing I can do about it, so I'm just going to ignore it.

You may think I'm nuts, but you can come back when Bush has been elected to his fourth term in office and people are being thown in jail for blowing their noses in the wrong way. By that point I'll be living a reasonable life in some country that can behave itself, so it won't matter to me.

Ha.

I think most countries probably go through a bad patch -- Spain, for instance, was probably not a great place to be in the 1960s, but Franco is dead now. This country has had its moments, too, but those moments were long ago.

It's a new, more flexible understanding of the world.

Okay. That is all.

out of print - new releases

find me! - 2008-02-12
where I've gone - 2008-02-07
Where I've gone - 2008-02-05
where I've gone - 2008-02-01
New - 2008-02-01

Diaryland

design by simplify.