Xmas

2006-12-11 - 3:23 p.m.

Hmmm. I guess it's probably time to start thinking about shopping.

I have an idea for K, and also one for M, and a very vague idea for N.

I've got something for K's mother. I don't quite have anything for my mother (I'm thinking). And nieces and nephews are covered.

Anyway.

Holiday meme
1. Egg Nog or Hot Chocolate?
Hmmm. I think eggnog is for festive preXmas events, and h.choc. is for sledding, in the cold, after.

2. Does Santa wrap the presents or just set them under the tree?
Santa does wrap a few things and scatter them under the tree, as surprises. But the big main things he tends to leave, unwrapped, in front of the fireplace. Or in stockings, if they're small.

3. Colored or white lights on the tree/house?
Colored on the tree. I think we tried white last year and it was rejected as too tasteful. Colored outside, too, I think.

4. Do you hang mistletoe?
Yes!

5. When do you put up your decorations?
Oh, as soon as we can. Which is never before about the 16th, and sometimes much later.

6. What is your favorite holiday dish?
Hmmm. I do like turkey, and steamed chocolate pudding, and our housekeeper's amazing xmas cookies -- virginia bars and peanut-date logs and thumbprint cookies and spritz cookies. I guess it would have to be the cookies.

7. Favorite Holiday memory as a child?
Hmmm. I do remember driving home from midnight mass in the cold, singing xmas carols. I actually remember a few not so great things, too. Maybe they stand out more, because mostly I like the holidays. Recently, I liked the Christmas that Santa brought M the entire Lion King Family, plus a teepee for them to live in. That was fun to set up.


8. When and how did you learn the truth about Santa?
I think my terrible brothers told me, shortly after my mother married their father.

9. Do you open gifts on Christmas Eve?
Well, this is interesting. My step-siblings' mother was Norwegian-American, and I think the scandinavian tradition is to open all presents on christmas eve. But after the merger, it was decided that we would open one on christmas eve, and the rest on christmas day. This was great, actually. I always opened my grandmother's present, because it was always new pajamas.

10. How do you decorate your Christmas Tree?
How? First I put the lights on. This takes hours. Then we drag out all the boxes. At first everyone is interested, but eventually, M is interested in dragging her favorite ornaments off to look at, N is interested in something else all together, and K is interested in the paper. Then I finish putting them up.

11. Snow! Love it or dread it?
Love it, not that it matters since it does not snow here.

12. Can you ice skate?
Yes -- not well, but I don't fall down much.

13. Do you remember your favorite gift as a child?
Strangely, I remember gifts that weren't quite what I'd hoped for. Chatty Cathy was a disappointment, and I got a very odd dollhouse one year (which I actually sort of liked.) I remember a package of books from my sister which was a great surprise. Oh, and my mother was forever giving me terrible outfits that I always hated (aqua plaid itchy wool pants, for instance, with an acqua sweater). Then I'd have to wear them one day to school, which was always the worst day of my life.

14. What is the most important thing about the Holidays for you?
What is it with all this wierd punctuation? Well, I suppose having time to do family things is the most important thing for me. Having special things, like cookies.


15. Favorite holiday dessert?
Pecan pie, or cookies, or steamed chocolate pudding.

16. What is your favorite holiday tradition?
Going to cut our tree down in the mud in Martinez.

17. What tops your tree?
A pink ribbon that came on a baby gift for N. (Her birthday is 11/25)

18. Which do you prefer giving or receiving?
Both, I think.

19. What is your favorite Christmas song?
I do like Good King Wenceslaus. Also The Holly and the Ivy. Or Lo how a rose. Adeste Fideles. Hmmm. There are more. In the Bleak Midwinter.

20. Candy Canes! yum or yuck?
Well, they're okay, I think.

21. What is your favorite holiday movie?
Love Actually.

out of print - new releases

find me! - 2008-02-12
where I've gone - 2008-02-07
Where I've gone - 2008-02-05
where I've gone - 2008-02-01
New - 2008-02-01

Diaryland

design by simplify.