Wind

2007-05-07 - 1:58 p.m.

Is diaryland dead? I certainly hope not, but it�s seeming a little shaky. Hmmm.

Okay. It is now lunchtime. I think I should probably go eat lunch.

But here�s what I�ve been up to. I was planning to come in to work over the weekend to move my crap from one desk to another. But then I got home and realized, what, am I crazy? My entire house is a complete mess and there�s no food anywhere because I never have any time at home, and neither does K, and there�s no way in hell I�m going to give up my weekend to potter around in my office!

So I didn�t.

So � I�m not quite sure what I did do, but whatever I did it was at home.

There was a certain amount of driving children hither and yon. N was either at E�s house, or with E at ours, but it was good because they were studying. M was out socializing. I�m realizing that maybe that�s what freshman year is all about �pointless socializing with people I�m not all that crazy about. So I�m just biting my tongue and waiting for it all to be over. She wanted to wear some tiny little blouse as a dress this morning, with tights. Mind you it�s about 85 degrees. I said no, and suggested she put on a pair of shorts. Which she did, and actually seemed happier.

That�s the thing � you finally call them on their ridiculous behavior and then they�re relieved. They can now go to school in normal clothing and blame it all on me.

But N is pretty much past it, which makes the whole thing with M seem a little annoying, but mostly comical. Whereas when it was N I think I was fairly hysterical, imagining it permanent.

The raccoon makeup, though � N never went through that. I am having a hard time biting my tongue on that one. Why would anyone, no matter how teenaged, imagine that drawing black eyeliner circles around your eyes would be an attractive thing? I certainly don�t get it. She looks so nice when she�s just herself! (I�m sure I�m the first with this sentiment.)

Also, there some kind of strange and terrible wind going on. I woke up at about 6:30 and went out to find a bunch of those terrible packing peanuts blowing around our yard. I don�t know exactly how it happened, but I think they escaped from a bag I had on the porch. The bag is nowhere to be found � either K did something with it when he left, or it just blew away and is now despoiling someone else�s yard.

Hmmm.

But our yard is looking nice. I realize that I like it in its wild state � it reminds me of the yards of lake cottages in Minnesota in my youth. Soft grass, weedy beds. I�ve put in a ton of roses, and there are also a bunch already there. I think that�s what�s influencing my nursery choices, too � lilac and viburnum. Maybe it will work � there�s a nice mix of sun and shade, and the ground is fairly damp � there must be an underground creek nearby. Anyway, it�s quite nice to sit out under the apple tree in the shade. I did rip out some blackberries, and it wasn�t actually as hard as I�d been expecting. I can probably get them all by next week.

Okay.

Now I�m eating lunch.

out of print - new releases

find me! - 2008-02-12
where I've gone - 2008-02-07
Where I've gone - 2008-02-05
where I've gone - 2008-02-01
New - 2008-02-01

Diaryland

design by simplify.