How did we get so old?

2007-05-11 - 2:12 p.m.

Huh. I really did put a little tiny entry up this morning. I guess someone ate it.

Yesterday, on the bus, I saw two women I know. I used to work in another part of this organization, and I used to work with one of the women I saw. If I'd seen her before I sat down, I would certainly have said hello. But since I didn't, and since I sort of don't like her, I didn't. Ha!

Apparently, she was talking about high school. She does have two kids around the ages of mine. I am quite glad not to have had to talk schools with her. I wonder where her kids are? Hmmm.

The woman she was talking to, I realized a bit later, was a woman who is actually involved with a woman I used to know pretty well. But I don't know her very well at all, so it would have been weird to say hello to her, so I was happy that I didn't have to talk to her, either.

She's quite a bit older than me, and when she got off the bus she skipped into the building.

I sat and thought about whether that's something I would do.

I think not. It kind of saddened me to realize that I'm past the age for skipping, when I really did use to love it so. At the same time, I think I'm resigned to the fact that I might skip in a private place, maybe, with a grandchild. But probably not on my way into work.

Did you know that Deborah Eisenberg has a new book of stories? The Twilight of the Superheroes. I read part of one at lunch today. She's pretty excellent. I had a copy of Transactions in a foreign currency many years ago which I loved a lot. She doesn't write a lot, but it's nice that over the 25 years I've known about her it's grown to be a something.

Okay. I've got stuff to do.

out of print - new releases

find me! - 2008-02-12
where I've gone - 2008-02-07
Where I've gone - 2008-02-05
where I've gone - 2008-02-01
New - 2008-02-01

Diaryland

design by simplify.