attempt

2007-05-25 - 10:46 a.m.

So --

The first day in two weeks that's not crammed full of meetings or events or something.

Phew!

So now I really do need to get some work done, which will actually be a relief, I think.
And maybe organize my desk a little bit.

And then it's a long weekend. Lovely.

I wanted to tell you that I've been reading Frank Rich's The Greatest Story ever Sold, which I like. I like him, generally. It is interesting that it manages to connect things that in my mind are completely disjoint -- the Chandra Levy story with the beginning of the Iraq war. They occupy completely different universes for me. Odd, isn't it?

I sort of think he has a more positive take on the whole thing than I do -- for instance, does anyone still remember Richard Clarke? I mean, I found him completely convincing, but I don't think many other people did, or why would they have reelected Bush? Rich seems to think that Clarke made a difference, but I'm not sure I see it.

And ... I'm reading The Camel Bookmobile, which is a little interesting, but not fundamentally interesting. (How's that for a review!)

And I'm not sure that Deborah Eisenberg's new book of stories, Twilight of the Superheroes is as great as I hoped it might be. But I'll get back to you on that.

In further news, it actually does seem like Spain might be a possibility. And/or we could actually host someone from somewhere. And there are other possibilities -- interning with an uncle in Pittsburgh? Camp counselor at the camp she attended for many years? Piano lessons?

In fact, I'm wondering if she shouldn't maybe take a 13th year of high school in Spain. That might be fantastic.

So --

I think my whole idea about jumping off the fast track is making more and more and more sense.

Oh, and I did read a book that I consumed practically in one sitting: Toast, by Nigel Slater. I wanted to read it while walking home, but I've never really mastered the whole walking and reading combination. Anyway, it's a completely compelling read -- which is not always a recommendation, and I wonder why not. I do recommend it, though. It's sort of a memoir-by-food. There is one thing, though -- he's complaining about his stepmother at one point. He writes bitterly: "I had to make my bed and put my clothes in the dirty clothes basket and come home after school and clean the kitchen" ... Which actually did not seem so horrible to me. He claimed that no one else had to, and that reassured me, because my kids don't quite do all those things. But I still think they should.

OKay -- that's all I've got.

Oh -- also from my disappeared entry: I made peach cobbler the other night. It was delicious.

out of print - new releases

find me! - 2008-02-12
where I've gone - 2008-02-07
Where I've gone - 2008-02-05
where I've gone - 2008-02-01
New - 2008-02-01

Diaryland

design by simplify.