drowning, or not

2007-05-30 - 3:48 p.m.

The bad thing about a long weekend which extends into the next week is that you come back on what feels like Monday, only sort of worse, and it's already Tuesday. So you feel vaguely hung-over, and you're already a day behind.

By today, I feel like I will never catch up.

So I'm drinking a latte. Perhaps that will help.

And now I'm going to do some quiet little thing. I will be productive, and not have to think too much.

On the other hand, there is a little farmers market outside my building, and I just bought two handfuls of garden peas, and three baskets of strawberries. Strawberry shortcake for dinner tonight!

M had to bring a picture to school on Monday for a writing assignment. By some miracle, when we moved in I unpacked the pictures, which are pretty much organized into boxes, on readily available shelves in the study. They could just as easily have been shoved up into the attic never to be found again. But they were there, and she looked through them all for a good one to write about -- I think she picked one of Grandpa P aboard his boat. I saw a handful when she was deciding -- they were amazing. A tiny M hugging our cat, Jimmy, who was bigger than she was. A tiny M offering a bright zinnia to my mother's dog, again bigger than M, and now long deceased. A saucy N, chewing on an ear of corn, her head cocked up to look at Grandpa T, but not looking at him. Another of N, hanging off the sailboat while Grandpa P fusses with something up on top. My nephew P, now commonly felt to be a great pill, looking like a little peanut, again in the sailboat. You want to grab him and give him a kiss.

It made me feel that things will probably be all right -- I still see traces of the saucy N at the dinner table, and it's even likely that the tall and gloomy M would still be inclined to offer a flower to a dog.

Ho hum.

out of print - new releases

find me! - 2008-02-12
where I've gone - 2008-02-07
Where I've gone - 2008-02-05
where I've gone - 2008-02-01
New - 2008-02-01

Diaryland

design by simplify.