View

2007-08-13 - 1:21 p.m.

Well, I am in massachusetts. It took us all day to get here. I managed to get the whole garden planted before I left, and it looks great, but I woke up this morning remembering that I'd left a pile of dishes in the sink.

Which seems exactly right, somehow.

Anyway, what I'm doing at the moment is sitting at my mother's computer trying to get a statistical report finished. I think I may be able to, but there's other stuff I want to do, and I'm not sure I'm going to be able to.

And I just had a conversation with the woman who takes care of my mother's garden. She's 45, and about to be a grandmother. More shocking to her than to me, I think.

It's kind of pleasant -- my mother is actually off somewhere else today, and we have the house to ourselves -- but odd, too.

I have too much going on.
It feels strange that N is not here.
It feels like the summer has passed by and it's really too late to start it now.

You need to work your way into that state. You need to wake up in August and realize that you've been living in shorts and no shoes for a month, and that you've kayaked everywhere you wanted to. You can't just show up in August and expect it to feel like summer.

Ho hum.

out of print - new releases

find me! - 2008-02-12
where I've gone - 2008-02-07
Where I've gone - 2008-02-05
where I've gone - 2008-02-01
New - 2008-02-01

Diaryland

design by simplify.