One more year

2007-08-28 - 12:18 p.m.

Oh dear.

I am not sure I am going to survive this year.

Harrumph.

I foresee a trainwreck along about November.

(N and her friend E on their way to Marine World. E extremely impatient as I look up directions for them, and remind them to make sure to have money for parking. Of course, they could have gotten up hours earlier and been on their way. I sort of wonder what sort of an influence E is on N. E is completely flighty and pretty much does what she wants. N actually does need to settle down and get a few things done.)

(And I, fresh from my mother's house, know with excruciating immediacy just how annoying it is to have your mother remind you to breath and tie your shoes.)

(And surely N, fresh from a month with no parental advice whatsoever, does too.)

(But what if she gets in to no college? Or the wrong college? Then we will all be in real trouble.)

(I saw the college guide flipped open to Tulane on the kitchen table. My hackles rise and I blame it on E. Yes, party central -- just the place for the already-distracted N. I think not.)

N is an exciting child, but not exactly an easy one. Actually, she is fun to talk to, and she thinks about things. But given the chance she will always be running around, and things will get left to the last minute.

It was nice having just M this summer. I think she enjoyed having a summer with no older sister harassing her into doing things she didn't want to do. I think she enjoyed having no one but herself to please. It was nice. And quiet.

Okay. Enough of that.

out of print - new releases

find me! - 2008-02-12
where I've gone - 2008-02-07
Where I've gone - 2008-02-05
where I've gone - 2008-02-01
New - 2008-02-01

Diaryland

design by simplify.