some gripes

2007-09-11 - 11:18 a.m.

Went to the college night last night at LUPS. It was actually informative. They have actually hired a competent, wonderful person!

[Sometimes that happens -- there are a fair number of competent wonderful people there. It's just that there are a whole lot of incompetent, terrible people, too, like M's English teacher. They have read nothing, but they have discussed in detail any number of lurid awful news stories.

"Too bad you don't have an English class this year, M."

"Oh, he's not that bad. I think we'll probably get to some reading eventually. The books on his list seem good."

"Yeah. But it's not like in math class you spend two weeks discussing bank robberies before you actually get to some math ..."

"Well, no."]

It infuriates me. Is it too much to ask that children actually read books? Is there something wrong with reading books?

Anyway.

It's feeling like fall, and my bike is running smoothly now because I oiled the chain. I even rode my bike to the meeting last night.

There's another meeting tonight, which I really should go to because it's about electing people to the PTSA. It's important because the administration wants to take time away from classes for something called "advisory." There's no reason this shouldn't be fine, except for the number of terrible teachers. The way it would actually work is that you would get M's English teacher for advisory and spend an hour a week for the rest of your life hearing about lurid news stories, or how he tortured dogs and crippled people when he was a child. That would be educational, I think.

The idea is that you would develop a relationship with one teacher who would follow you throughout your high school career. The reality is that it would be Mr. M, and really, would you want much of a relationship with him?

No.

Hmmm.

I thought I had come to grips with the things I hate about LUPS, but maybe not.

Well.

out of print - new releases

find me! - 2008-02-12
where I've gone - 2008-02-07
Where I've gone - 2008-02-05
where I've gone - 2008-02-01
New - 2008-02-01

Diaryland

design by simplify.