ensalada de naranjas

2005-04-26 - 11:03 a.m.

Good: Looked at lots of kitchen options -- I think it will be nice. Plus the yard! The yard will be nice. And there will be room! Room for the stuff that fills our house that we currently have no room for!

Bad: Twice this week, N. says as we drive into town, "I don't want to live in R. anymore."

Hmmm. Hopefully it will all work out. If not, we can just be miserable -- there's always that!

Other news -- E. is in big trouble for skipping school one day last week and going to SF with a bunch of friends. Parents found out -- were furious -- E. is grounded for three weeks. The odd thing is how very cheerful children seem to be when this sort of punishment is enacted. Last weekend N. wanted to hang around town doing nothing in particular on Friday, and maybe she would come home eventually. But she also wanted to go to a seder with E. on Saturday and sleep over, and go to a local club to see some band who wears colandars on their heads. I said "one or the other," and after much haggling and, strangely, promises that she had gotten an A on her latin test (in fact she got a B+ -- not bad, but not an A -- not that that had anything to do with anything anyway) -- in any case, after a few fits, she said, "Okay, I'm coming home." She was home before I was (I had been willing to let her stay out until I went home) and completely cheerful when I got home. And by all accounts, E. is actually quite cheerful, too.

???

A mystery, but it does seem that they actually like, upon occasion, to be treated like children. Hmmm.

In any case, I am exhausted. I stayed up very late last night for no reason whatsoever, and then had to get up early to make Ensalada de Naranjas (a Guatemalan specialty!) for Maddy this morning. It was good, actually -- Peel and slice 6 oranges. Toast some pumpkin seeds and grind them up in the coffee grinder. Sprinkle the oranges with salt, ground pumpkin seeds and chili flakes. A hell of a lot easier than Nora's Nicaraguan dish, which was a sort of pot roast boiled and then sliced and sauteed with green peppers and onions, and then returned to the water (stock) to which you add masa and sour orange juice. Although that was kind of good, too.

Okay. Idon't know about you, but I have things to do --

Bye.

out of print - new releases

find me! - 2008-02-12
where I've gone - 2008-02-07
Where I've gone - 2008-02-05
where I've gone - 2008-02-01
New - 2008-02-01

Diaryland

design by simplify.